Australian Embassy

New Colombo Plan 2020 Scholars Announced

The Australian Government’s New Colombo Plan will support 125 emerging leaders from across Australia to live, learn and gain work experience in the Indo-Pacific in 2020. This includes 14 university student/s who have made Japan their priority destination.

An Australian Embassy Tokyo spokesperson said the New Colombo Plan illustrates Australia’s commitment to building cross-cultural understanding and increasing ties with Japan.

“In 2020, the New Colombo Plan will support 125 high achieving students to gain professional experience and a deeper understanding of locations across the Indo-Pacific, including Japan,” the spokesperson said.

“The New Colombo Plan is an investment in our relationship with Japan through Australia’s future leaders. It is an opportunity for scholars to build lasting links with Japan and its people.”

New Colombo Plan 2020 Japan scholars include:

  • Siena Hopkinson, Australian National University, (Fellow and PwC Scholar)
  • Lily Kennedy, Queensland University of Technology (Scholar)
  • Millie Leggett, University of Technology Sydney (Scholar)

New Colombo Plan 2020 Japan scholars will study a number of disciplines including political science, chemical engineering and creative arts.

Scholars will gain invaluable experience in Japan through internships, practicums and mentorships. Scholars will undertake study placements across Japan, including at Akita International University, Ritsumeikan University and Hokkaido University.

An Australian Embassy Tokyo spokesperson said private sector engagement is at the core of the New Colombo Plan.

“Upon their return to Australia, scholars bring the benefits of cultural awareness and a global network to their employers,” they said.  

“These scholars represent the next generation of Australian leaders. The skills they will gain and friendships they will form are a crucial part of Australia’s future success and engagement with the region.”